Dustin Johnson takes the first title at the LIV Golf Invitational Series Event


The first course of the LIV Golf Invitational Series’ eight events launched late Tuesday, with 42 players gearing up for the tournament next week in London.

Among the field was former world number one and two-time main champion Dustin Johnson, who Pledge of allegiance to the PGA Tour earlier this year, saying in February that he was “fully committed to the PGA Tour.”

“Dustin has been considering this opportunity on and off for the past two years,” David Winkle, Johnson’s director of Humbrick Sports, said in a statement. “In the end, he decided it was in his best interest and in the best interests of his family to pursue it. Dustin had no trouble with the PGA Tour and is grateful for everything he gave him, but in the end, he felt this was too compelling to miss.”

Johnson and Garcia lead the opening of the Leaf golf course

Johnson and Garcia lead the opening of the Leaf golf course

Johnson, the highest ranked player on the field at 13The tenth In the world, he wasn’t the only main hero who signed in to play the first event. Former US Open champion Graeme McDowell and Martin Kaymer play on the field, as are former Masters winner Sergio Garcia and US Open champion Louis Oosthuizen.

The tour did not immediately respond to a request for comment. The circuit denied all conflicting event release requests to play the first LIV event. The paddock players’ advisory board met Tuesday at the memorial, but according to a PAC member, the LIV field was not discussed.

The field in London will also feature tour winners Kevin Na, Lee Westwood, Ian Poulter, Hudson Swafford and Branden Grace.

Phil Mickelson is not on next week’s roster, though LIV Golf still has six spots available at the Centurion Club, five of which will go to players at this week’s Asian Tour event in England. Mickelson was associated with LIV Golf but was relayed in a story earlier this year on the Fire Pit Collective criticizing both LIV Golf and the PGA Tour, and he has not played since.

Here is a look at the current field roster (42 of the 48 players announced):

Oliver Baker, South Africa
Richard Bland, England
Laurie Kanter, England
Ratchanon Chantananuwat (amateur), Thailand
Henny de Plessis, South Africa
Oliver Fisher, England
Sergio Garcia, Spain
Taylor Gotsch, USA
Branden Grace, South Africa
Justin Harding, South Africa
Sam Horsfield, England
Dustin Johnson, USA
Matt Jones, Australia
Sadom Kaewkanjana, Thailand
Martin Kaymer, Germany
Phachara Khongwatmai, Thailand
Sihwan Kim, USA
Ryosuke Kinoshita, Japan
Chase Kupka, USA
Jinichiro Kuzuma, Japan
Pablo Larzabal, Spain
Graeme McDowell, Northern Ireland
Jedea Morgan, Australia
Kevin Na, USA
Sean Norris, South Africa
Andy Ogletree, USA
Louis Oosthuizen, South Africa
Ormsby Valley, Australia
Adrien Otaegui, Spain
Leave Petit, USA
James Peut (amateur), USA
Ian Poulter, England
David Puig (amateur), Spain
JC Ritchie, South Africa
Charles Schwarzl, South Africa
Hudson Swafford, USA
Hideto Tanihara, Japan
Peter Oehlen, USA
Scott Vincent, Zimbabwe
Lee Westwood, England
Bernd Weisberger, Austria
Blake Winderd, Australia