Tornado watch issued for most of the Chicago, Northern Illinois area


The National Weather Service has released a hurricane watch for most of the Chicago area.

The clock now includes 17 counties in Illinois, including 10 in NBC’s viewing area 5. McHenry, DeKalb, Kane, DuPage, LaSalle, Kendall, Grundy, Will, and Kankakee counties are all in the clock, which will run until 8 p.m.

Cook County, which was not originally part of the clock, was added after 4 p.m., according to officials.

According to the National Weather Service, severe thunderstorms are likely across Illinois and northwest Indiana Saturday afternoon and into the evening hours.

Some of these storms can cause devastating straight line winds, hail, torrential rain, and even scattered tornadoes.

Stay tuned with NBC 5 for the latest details on this evolving story.